kids eats

Salmon season

I bought quite a bit of frozen fish from Fassler – they distribute frozen fish like cod and salmon and will deliver straight to your doorstep if you order more than $150, which is not difficult to do given the price of cod is ridiculously high (but tastes oh so lovely!).

Amongst all the things we bought, I bought a 500g packet of salmon shreds, which they say is good for porridge or fried rice. It’s 500g for $5. Super worth it!! That’s $10 per kg, and some cuts of chicken is already $8.80 per kg at NTUC. So I decided to do a salmon and potato bake with broccoli. I didn’t follow a recipe and kept changing my mind about the recipe along the way but thank God it came out pretty yummy! Basically:

  • Use butter, fry an onion, and then fry salmon bits (because it’s “fresh” and not smoked) half way, because I didn’t want the salmon to be too cooked and too dry. I only used about half the packet (250g) of it.
  • Add in some cream, and dill, or other herbs, salt and pepper. I haven’t got dill in my herb garden so I threw in thyme instead, since my thyme is growing like nobody’s business.
  • Meantime boil broccoli, and potatoes (separately).
  • Mash ’em potatoes with a knob of butter, some milk, salt and pepper.
  • Layer broccoli at the bottom of a casserole dish, with salmon on top, and then the potatoes on top
  • Top it off with some cheese – I put a mix of edam and geyure
  • Bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes, then set the oven to grill for another 5-10 minutes for that lovely brown effect.

It was a little watery (not sure why?) for my liking but otherwise well received! Mittens ate quite a bit, but Abacus shunned it, but then again he’s becoming quite the picky eater. Feeds 2 adults who are large eaters (and I’m talking about my maid, not the hubby because he wasn’t around for dinner!) and a voracious toddler, and we still had a little bit left for Mittens’ lunch today.

20110502-104605.jpg
Sandwhiches.

So what to do with the rest of the salmon? For lunch the next day I made salmon with scrambled eggs on toast, really simple, and using butter to fry the eggs/salmon again, which I think gives it a really lovely and distinct flavour. No wonder the French love to cook with butter. That used up maybe another 100g of the salmon.

20110502-104628.jpg
Pasta. (Kinda obvious innit?)

That was quite enough salmon for the day, so I saved the rest (maybe 150-200g of it?) for today – Salmon pasta. Mittens told me that he loved my cooking (aw, what a sweetie), and Abacus ate up all but 1 mouthful! It was a breakthrough for him, but I’m willing to bet that if I make the exact same thing a few days from now, he might not even get past 2 mouthfuls because his tastes are so erratic.

Basically the pasta was:

  • Start boiling them pastas (in this case it was spaghetti, my all time fav.)
  • Fry onions in olive oil and a knob of butter, add in garlic a short while later.
  • Fry salmon (I’m not a fan of smoked salmon, and I much prefer the fresh kind).
  • Add in freshly chopped basil from our garden selection.
  • Add in cream, and other optional things like yoghurt, a dollop of pizza sauce (I didn’t have tomato paste, and wanted it a little red), dried basil.
  • Add in salt and pepper (of course).
  • Drain pasta and add pasta into sauce and stir well (preferably with tongs, which reminds me, I would love a pair of silicone tongs because I absolutely can NOT take metal scraping on metal. UGH.).
  • Serves 2 adults and 1 hungry toddler.

Viola! 🙂

And that, my friends, is how you use up a packet of 500g of salmon shreds that cost only $5.

Leave a Reply

