kids activities · learning & actitivies

Homeschooling – August 2011

I just had a conversation with one of Mittens’ classmates mother about teaching at home, and the boy (who can’t be more than 3.5 years old) can already spell out the numbers one to ten and is beginning to read! I don’t think I’m the most

I’ve been a little lazy recently on the “homeschooling” front, even though we’ve actually had a lot more time with the June holidays, and I attended an inspiring workshop by Tiny Acorns. I’ve been having trouble getting him to focus on any task at hand, and even for something simple like arts and craft he will sometimes get distracted and start to do his own thing, so I gave up on any lesson “plans”, although I know that for arts and craft it’s not so important what the end result is as long as he has fun. I’m starting to feel like it’s a boy thing that they can’t sit still because the girls all around us all seem to do a much better job at following instructions, even though lots of people also tell me that girls are just as restless. Maybe they’re just trying to make me feel better.

The machine was so fast by the time I got my iPhone ready to take the photo it'd almost finished laminating the page!

Yesterday, I scored (by which I really mean I bought it) a home A4 lamination machine from Popular bookstore yesterday – it had a price tag of $64, but was $34 at the check out, with free 100 pouches some more, and like a typical Singaporean I didn’t question the cashier (she did double check the price tag and her cash register information though). We also bought lots of A3 drawing block and coloured paper, and more paints and some stamps and paint rollers and a colour wheel, so I hope it will keep both boys busy! And if anyone wants to know, Art Friend at Taka is so much friendlier (pun intended) than Art Friend at Bras Basah for kids crafts.

So I’m hoping that with all our new all the materials and some great homeschool stuff, like the Preschooler Star Wars Pack from Homeschool Creations, which Mittens definitely loves, and other fantastic homeschool sites like Confessions of a Homeschooler, which have the loveliest graphics , I’m going to be busy too. And I hope all of us enjoy it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

