learning & actitivies

Teaching fractions

Shapes puzzle and good resource for teaching fractions..

Geez, time sure flies between posts! Ok this might be a little random, but just in case anyone finds it useful.

Recently I’ve been trying to emphasise halves to Mittens, but I haven’t ventured far because I’m not sure if he’s ready. I think it’s been introduced in school, but I also recently came across a resource for starting to teach fractions, as well as some good advice on when a kid is “ready”:

“You may be asking yourself, “How do I know if my child is ready for fractions?” Here are a few prerequisites that your child needs before fully understanding the concepts involved in working with fractions.

Does your child understand equal parts?

Does your child understand unequal parts?

A way to assess your child’s knowledge of these two areas is by having them cut and fold objects on paper into equal or unequal parts. They can also look at a collection of objects on paper that are equal or unequal and identify which is which.
Enclosed in this free introduction are some activities to get you started. We invite you to look at our full preview.”

If you ask me “full preview” sounds suspiciously like an oxymoron, but anyway the “Chocolate Fractions Part One: Is my child ready for this?” is a pretty interesting guide.

I tried to ask Mittens to fold a piece of paper in half, which he couldn’t quite grasp, so I guess I’ll just have to try another day and keep talking about halves. I also have the shape puzzle activity (pictured above, from Confessions of a Homeschooler) printed and laminated at home, so I can probably use that for illustrative purposes.

Enjoy the resources 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

