family life · Singapore

The Help

The Help has been with us for slightly over a year now, and I’m so grateful to have an extra pair of hands around the house to keep the house clean. Two weeks ago I had a few days of just having to look after only Mittens, and it felt like such a breeze that I think if I only had 1 kid I could probably do it with just a part time cleaner. What a luxury it must be for mothers who are full time SAHMs, have only 1 child AND hired help too! But that’s not my life, so I think we’re destined to rely on hired help for a few more years, especially since Nai Nai is one of those super mothers who does everything for their kids such that they grow up like royalty. At least my husband will not dispute this fact and doesn’t insist that I do all the housework AND wait on him hand and foot AND look after the kids.

I think the biggest problem so far has been the komunikasi. Of course her English is by far a million times better than my Bahasa, but I think if she should ever leave us I might be tempted to select perhaps say a Filipino instead so that it’s easier to communicate. I’ve recently requested she teach the boys a few simple words in Bahasa, primarily because I don’t want them picking things up like “sh** down” (I had to correct her on that one, after all her name is Siti!!), and it would be great for them to learn how to say count in Malay. After all they learn really quickly, so why not right?

Of course, like any employee, there are good days and there are bad days, and there are days where I feel as if I have an extra kid to look after. But all in all, it’s been super to have an extra pair of hands, especially these last few weeks when I’ve been sick and desperately needing a nap every day and sometimes a little zoned out at other times, I can’t imagine what I’d do if I didn’t have any help!

Everyone says it getting hired help all boils down to luck, and it’s so true. There’s only so much you can tell from a person’s bio, which are probably all yes yes yes anyway until they come work for you. Here’s hoping there won’t be any sudden turns for the worse!

4 thoughts on “The Help

  1. I have to admit I do miss being SAHM with 1 kid plus 1 hired help plus 1 chauffeur days. Extreme luxury. Well, there’s always an end to good stuff 🙂 I think you’re doing wonderful with the 2 boys cousin!

    Like

  2. I understand this. i’m very appreciative of my Help too and I guess I’m a bit fortunate with komunikasi part. Glad to know you cos somehow I havent seen many blogging moms talking abt The Help. The recent weekly day off issue somehow saddens me that a lot of ppl stereotype employers to be mean with their Help when they get worked up over the weekly day off deal. I wish ppl stop stereotyping cos then its unfair to the reasonable employers.

    Like

    1. I totally know what you mean! There are families and employers who genuinely need the help, but everyone seems keen to dismiss that as being helpless…

      Btw, LOVE your photos, you have a good eye. Wish I could dust off my camera but my hands are too busy with the two boys. Haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

