family life · parenting

Being Mummylicious

The Smart Girl's Handbook to being Mummylicious

I came across this new book out soon called The Smart Girl’s Handbook to Being Mummylicious. It reminded me of The Yummy Mummy’s Survival Guide, which I read before Mittens was born.The Yummy Mummy is a pretty funny read, and I remember one part of it saying that other mummies will always seem like they have it together, but don’t be fooled by that! It sounds like common sense, but sometimes, sleep deprivation also deprives you of a little common sense.

Tips on how to balance everything, keeping it all together AND staying sane are always welcome, so The Smart Girl’s Handbook looks like a great read. Plus, the author looks super hot on The Asian Parent webby! Bet she’s the naturally skinny lost-all-my-preggers-weight-after-1-month and eat-all-I-want-even-after-4-kids type *sour grapes*. Ha!

What I totally could NOT agree with was the marketing copy:

Do you know someone who has put off pregnancy because she is worried about weight gain, going out of shape or simply losing the quality of her life? Fret not, an exciting new book entitled “The Smart Girl’s Handbook to Being MUMMYLICIOUS” will remove all these worries and change the lives of numerous women the world over.

If you DO know someone who has put off pregnancy because of weight gain, etc., she needs MORE than this exciting new book. She needs to seriously reconsider her priorities. Don’t you think?

3 thoughts on “Being Mummylicious

  1. Hi,
    I’ve actually read the book and you really should give it a chance…The author writes in a very honest way…and she says she put on 17 kilos with each of her 4 pregnancies and that it took her at least a year to get back in shape. I have a lot of friends who are considering having a baby but they ARE also a little worried about getting out of shape and loosing the quality of their life. I think’s only natural to worry about that haha! After reading the book, it really got me inspired to start getting back into shape, I still have 5 kilos which I didn’t loose from my last pregnancy so now I’m going to follow her diet and fitness recommendations! I also read the Yummy Mummy’s Survival Guide and this is different and focuses more on getting back into shape. I really enjoyed the book! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the feedback, and it’s so great to hear from you especially since you’ve read both books! I’m going to have to blame occupational hazard for being picky on copy, and will try to pick up a copy in a few months when I’ll probably need it 🙂

      On a separate note, I once had a friend who complained about post-birth weight, and apart from reassure her that it does take some time (and if it ever happens again I can probably recommend this book!), I also shared my philosophy that it’s a small price to pay for a wonderful miracle of life. A few months later she mentioned that those words really touched her! I could hardly remember telling her that, lol.

      Like

      1. I agree with you :-)) I love being a Mummy too but I also want to look my best for myself!
        In the Mummylicious book the author says it doesn’t matter how fast you get back in shape as long as you get there at your own pace, that’s why I like the book. She is very reassuring and explains how she did it…and my God, she’s done it 4 times!!! I still can’t get organized with just 1 baby!! Arg!!! haha!

        Like

Leave a Reply

