health

Review: Palmer’s Stretch Mark Cream

Cocoa Butter, yumm yumm!

Having a baby is an amazing miracle, and it’s also pretty amazing what our bodies can do. Imagine accommodating and growing another human being for a couple of months, going through all the changes is definitely not easy on any mummy. Morning sickness, bloatedess, heartburn, gestational diabetes, and the dreaded stretch marks – the list of things that mummies have to go through are never ending.

Anyhow, apparently between 75% and 90% of women develop stretch marks to some degree during pregnancy, and I hear the scientific research says that stretch marks are hereditary, and if you’re gonna get it, you’re gonna get it, but you can help it from getting worse with copious amounts of moisturising.

I have to say that the Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula Massage Lotion for Stretch Marks smells heavenly. It is cocoa butter, after all, a baking ingredient, so it reminds me of a creamy batter. In my first trimester it really made me feel like eating some decadent desserts all the time. Now in the last stages of my third trimester, the smell doesn’t trigger off any cravings, but I do just go straight for desserts – chocolate, fruits, ice cream, whatever! I’ve always had a sweet tooth, so I’m not surprised. So if you’re at risk of gestational diabetes or under strict instructions to limit your sugar intake, you might want to reconsider using this, haha!

I found the cream thick, but not uncomfortably thick, and less creamy and sticky than the Clarins stretch mark cream, but then I have pretty dry skin, and my usual routine is baby oil on damp skin after a shower and Jergens before bed, so I’m used to thick creams.

So far for all three pregnancies, and even though I’m absolutely huge this last pregnancy, I’ve been super super lucky that I haven’t had any stretch marks at all. I do have stretch marks from my younger days along my hips, I don’t remember when, probably when I was a teen and growing taller. I hear that stretch marks from the teenage years are pretty common, and it completely did NOT occur to me to use any stretch mark lotion on those marks until, er, like last week. Face palm, right?? Oh well, guess I could always start trying now 🙂

 

Disclaimer: I received complimentary bottles Palmers Cocca Butter Massage Lotion and Palmers Skin Therapy Oil to trial and to review on this blog. All opinions expressed are mine and mine alone, and I was not paid to write this post, and you know I could never be paid to wax lyrical about something I totally do not agree with, on my own blog. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

