Uncategorized

End of confinement, the start of a new family life.

Has it been 4 weeks already?

It’s fast closing in on four weeks since the little girl came into our lives, and with the end of the confinement month, I almost feel as if I’m about to get my (social) life back, even though we all know that’s easier said than done when you have kids. It’s really felt like my life has been segregated between during and after confinement, since there’s so much you shouldn’t be doing during confinement, such as stepping out of the house.

Everyone loves a good party, and I’ve been busy putting together the two full month parties that we’ll be having (one for the family and one for hubby’s colleagues). We also have three (!!!) weddings coming up in October, so it’d be nice to go out and have some adult conversation for a change. Being at home so much has also acerbated our wanderlust and hopefully we can arrange a family holiday for the end of the year and early next year.

That all sounds like fun, of course, but at the same time, even though there’s been a flurry of activity in the house this past month, I kinda know that this is the calm before the storm. The MIL has been taking over all the food preparation and it’s been a nice break from having to figure out what to cook each and every day (it can get really sian trying to do that every day!), and not having to give the helper (as many) instructions. Once the month is over and MIL retires it’s probably going to be a circus trying to manage the 3 kids, and helper, and hubby.

I’m struggling to get everything and everyone into some sort of routine that would fit everyone. Right now Baby Scout nurses almost every 2 hours (if I try to give her more milk she purses her lips and refuses), and has trouble sleeping well during the day. I usually put Abacus to nap in the early afternoon and catch a few snoozes myself while MIL eyes Mittens and Scout (if they’re not sleeping too). Scout fusses during the day (but thankfully sleeps pretty well at night) and I’m constantly aching from carrying the rather heavy bundle. Luckily the hubby will put the boys to bed whenever he can, but during the day the two boys are always looking for attention too,

This third time round I’m much less anxious over having to look after a newborn, although I’ve been trying to look through my old parenting books to do some “revision”. Funny how it’s only been 2 years since Abacus but everything seems like such a blur already! Thankfully the MIL has just suggested she stay on for another 2 weeks, so we’re definitely relieved to have the extra pair of hands around. If you ask me, I have no idea how this is all going to pan out. We kept hearing from friends that having three is much more of a handful than two, and I’m certainly feeling it right now! But I know that this won’t last long, and before we know it, Scout will be running around the house with her brothers. I’ll just have to keep reminding myself of that 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “End of confinement, the start of a new family life.

Leave a Reply

