Uncategorized

6 Weeks

zzzzzzzzz

It’s been almost two months now, and how busy life has been! There is usually such a flurry of activity every day that I’m not really sure how we’ve survived so far. But amazingly we have! I think when you’re in the moment it always feels as if it’s too much, but somehow the days (and nights) pass and fade, and before you know it the baby is up and walking.

According to Weissbluth’s Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child, the sixth week of life is when babies start to return your social smiles. Right on cue, Scout is starting to be such a joy to “talk” to, and her smiles almost make it worth carrying her around the whole day for. Almost.

She doesn’t seem to be a fussy baby, and is in fact rather calm with all the ruckus her brothers make at home going on, but it seems she needs to be carried an awful lot. She loves to sleep when I carry her in the Baby Bjorn, but most of the time, put her to sleep in a rocker or bed, and she’s up in a jiffy. Yesterday, I swear the longest she slept on her own was probably half an hour. Today, I put her to sleep on her tummy, after 3 previous failed attempts where at the point where she was going to really drift off to sleep, her eyes would spring back open and she’d look like she was ready to play.

It looks like it’s going to be a while before we can settle into a good day time sleep routine, but I’m extremely thankful that once she’s out at night, which could entail fussing for a few hours before she knocks out at 11pm, she sleeps through the night pretty well, pausing for short feeds maybe 2-3 times a night. I’m never quite sure because I sometimes fall asleep while feeding her!

I know I’m the world’s most interesting person, but I hope she starts to sleep longer during the day without me having to carry her and without her breaking my back. Actually my back’s ok, it’s my legs that need a real good massage.

But as I sit here in awe that this is the most time I’ve spent in front of the computer the entire week (maybe more), and lament at how little sleep all my kids seem to need, I can hear a neighbour’s kid screaming away, and I’m counting my blessings for all the energy that the monsters drain me of, they never throw tantrums that can’t be stopped with a little distraction, entertainment or bribery.

Leave a Reply

