family life · parenting

Hello, April!

20130401-233614.jpg

Wow, has a month gone by already?

Of all the things we did in March, I think of most significance is spending a good half of the month taking turns to be sick. First it was Mittens, followed by Abacus, each coming down with an uncomfortable rollercoaster fever for 3 days, a day’s break, then fever for another 3 days but the second time when the fever was not peaking they were back to their usual naughty (if not naughtier!) selves. Then Scout and I caught it but thankfully at the same time, otherwise if I had it and she didn’t I might have wanted to quarantine myself away from her which I’m sure she would not have liked at all. We were also lucky that my MIL was able to come and stay with us for a week during this period, since I had a throbbing headache for a week, which at times hurt even when I moved my head! And I really hardly get headaches that last beyond a few hours. During this period, the constant headaches and strain on the body made me quite irritable, and I found looking after the boys a pain and a chore, and if I was able to send the boys away for a while I probably would have been able to do it. I was miserable and not enjoying being at home with the kids at all.

Thankfully though, somewhere between reading several interesting and inspiring articles about how to build a happy family, about why even lawyers and doctors are (in the States) homeschooling their kids, and about helicopter parenting, something made me realize that every moment with the kids is an opportunity for them to learn, and once I came to that realization, it gave me more focus and patience in all the seemingly mundane things I was doing – from bringing them to school, to changing diapers, to making sure they’re fed and watered. And it was also a timely reminder to enjoy the little moments because they seem to grow so fast, even with me being with them for so much time in a day!

And so I’ve been enjoying the day to day toil a lot more, and I think the kids have been too. I’m so thankful that I have my time to give them and to influence them how I deem fit, because at the end of the day, I want to look back and know that I put in my best.

3 thoughts on “Hello, April!

Leave a Reply

