kids eats

Review: Beanstro, Takashimaya

Someone enjoyed her baby chair even though it looked like it was going to swallow her up.
Someone enjoyed her baby chair even though it looked like it was going to swallow her up.

Recently we were invited to do a media food tasting at the new Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Beanstro at Takashimaya. I’ve tried the Beanstro at MBS before, and thought the food was very decent (as compared to all the other options there before the lower end eateries opened up). I’ve also always really liked the CBTL pastas and sandwiches at their regular coffee joints for their fresh ingredients and very decent prices.

So the whole gang trooped down for dinner on a Tuesday, which wasn’t too crowded. They have many bench and booth type settings, which is what I like when we have kids because to have them seated in individual chairs is tougher, and the boys have always shunned baby chairs (boosters are ok, but such a rarity). We got ourselves a seat which faces the basement square, which provided some entertainment for them when they got a little bored.

They have all-day breakfast, which is a good option to have when you have kids who are picky with their food. You can see some of the photos and our comments from the dinner below, and I won’t go into too much detail. Overall I think they have some things going really well for them, like their lovely house dressing for the salad, and their simple dishes. As I mentioned, I know they can do simple pastas well, so I didn’t try any this time. Previously at MBS I’ve tried their Classic Lorraine Quiche, which at $7.50 is very decent.

However beyond that I can’t say I was impressed with the mains and dishes that require more effort in execution, but I can understand that it’s not easy to deliver a certain quality within a particular price range. CBTL still serves their signature coffees and teas, and I think I would come back here for their simple hearty dishes, but I might give the heavier mains a miss.

Beanstro Takashimaya
391 Orchard Road
#B1-37
Ngee Ann City
Singapore 238872
Tel: 62351610
Operating hours: Monday to Sunday; 8am – 11pm

Disclaimer: We were invited to the Beanstro Media Food Tasting session. All opinions are entirely my own.

5 thoughts on “Review: Beanstro, Takashimaya

Leave a Reply

