Uncategorized

Review: My Happy Feet

_YZ_1830

My name is Ed and I am so addicted to foot reflexology massages. It started maybe 7 or 8 years ago, when a friend of mine introduced me to a very local Chinese massage place. After that there was no turning back. The thing I love about foot massages is that you feel rather refreshed, yet drowsy, and all warm and tingly, a little like how a good (not too tiring) yoga session leaves you. It’s almost like getting your insides massaged! In a sense. The theory behind it is that a part or area of the foot (hands and ears, too!) corresponds to an organ or another area of the body. So massaging your foot is really like giving your insides a little massage too.

And after so many years, I have had so many types of foot and body massages – from the excruciating (there is one in Katong known for their qigong which leaves grown men literally cringing in their seats) to the ones in places like Bangkok, where they are a fraction of the price, but also display a fraction of strength and experience. I have long decided that I like spas which don’t necessarily provide the most elaborate ambiance, but deliver good massages, be it body or foot. Who wants to be paying extra for ambiance? I’d much rather the money go toward the masseur making sure that I’m a happy customer! And being the cheapskate (or would that be masochist?) that I am, I’m not satisfied until I feel suitable beaten and battered. So many times those Bangkok ones just leave me feeling as if I’ve been teased a little. So not shiok.

_YZ_1904

One of the places I’ve really been loving recently is a gem of a place opened by my friend M, called My Happy Feet, at Holland Village. It’s convenient, and usually it’s pretty easy to get a slot, which is so important when you have a “hectic” schedule and need to make impromptu bookings. Is it possible to plan anything ahead when you have kids? And apart from foot massages, or Footworks as they call it, they also do Bodyworks. And they do everything well. I’ve been there for foot and body massages, prenatal massages, and even for therapeutic massages (alternating it with tui na) when I pulled something in my back trying to carry Abacus into his car seat and couldn’t   walk without shooting pain. I’m lucky I never have elephant feet during pregnancy, but my legs do bear a lot of the weight, so they definitely feel the stress, and from the last trimester for Scout up till now, with carrying her all over the place, I have to literally put my legs up at the end of the day! So I’m glad I have a go-to place to help ease these pains of motherhood.

_YZ_1737

They’ve recently just moved to new premises in Holland Village so they’re now in a spanking new place just above Haagen Dazs, and will be opening an outlet at Purvis St. soon. Now if only I could tear the baby away from my side for an hour or two my feet would be a lot happier than they are now!!

My Happy Feet
21A Lorong Mambong
Holland Village
Singapore 277680
Tel: 64620525

Open Daily
M – F: 11am to 9pm
Sat: 10am to 10pm
Sun/PH: 10am to 9pm

31 Purvis Street
Tel: 63339953

Open Daily
M – F: 1030am to 830pm
Sat/Sun: 10am to 8pm

Disclaimer: I was not paid or sponsored for this review and am sharing this on my own accord. Man, just writing about it makes me feel like I need a good rub down, stat! All photos are courtesy of My Happy Feet, because I hardly even have time for my own massage. That’s the life of a mother, but hey I’m always glad I even manage to get out of the house!

13 thoughts on “Review: My Happy Feet

  1. wow this sounds divine! I’m also a huge fan of foot massages but it’s been some time since my last one in Hong Kong!

    Thanks for sharing this! I think I just might try it out when they open their branch at purvis street. Holland village is unfortunately a bit out of the way for me.

    Like

  2. I got addicted to foot massages since they helped relieve the leg edema in my first pregnancy. Since then, there was also no turning back for me. I like that I can skip with a sprint after the massage even though I am heavily pregnant. Also a good place for me to catch a nap before my classes. But the best place has to be in China where they will treat you like an emperor and empress for a fraction of the price you pay in Singapore.

    Like

  3. Oh.. reading this makes me want to have one too.
    Although HV is near us, but its not really along the way… I need recommendation for others that we can sneak out while the kids nap kind. any recommendation? 😛

    Like

    1. I know what you mean! I’ve tried Kemi Wellness along TP road, but they’re a bit different, they have this machine that can detox, which they use after giving you the foot massage. Quite interesting but I didn’t go often enough to know whether it’s effective. So far I haven’t tried any others, I lagi no time to sneak out, maybe wait 2 more years until my girl goes to school. Haha.

      Like

  4. Ooooh… foot reflexology… I tried once and it was so painful I never dared to do it again. ;P
    But body massages, that I like! 🙂

    Like

  5. Ooh, thanks for sharing! I’ve another favourite massage place that I go do in Holland Village, but will try this the next time! I am totally with you about preferring a good massage vs paying for a fancy place and getting a so-so massage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

