health

Review: NIVEA Body UV Whitening Serum

DSC04692Wow, has it been 2 weeks already since I started using NIVEA Body UV Whitening Serum? I’ve been diligently using every day and since I try to give the boys some outdoors time every day, I’ll even reapply the serum in the afternoon too, if I know I’m going to be heading out into the sun. I even used it when we headed out to St. John’s Island again for the day.

Day 1. Light spots, uneven skin tone.
Day 1. Light spots, uneven skin tone.
rwa
Day 14. More even skin tone, and a huge mossie bite at my wrist (argh!)

My skin tone is more even, but it’s not a drastic change that will leave my friends saying “You look different!”, and I think my skin is actually a little reddish now, from being out in the really (really) hot sun at St. John’s. But check this out!

sd
And I didn’t post this before, but this is Day 1 of my shingles scar.
sdas
And this is day 14! Quite visibly better! (Please ignore that little scratch there, and the difference in white balance!)

Now that really surprised me. I did try and be extra diligent at this spot and rubbed it in a little more. Shingles, as some of you might know, are a little like chicken pox, so it leaves a little bit of scarring and spotting (you can read about my shingles episode here). Luckily this is mid thigh, and being as old as I am, I’ve given all my mini-skirts away, but it’s nice to know that the scar can lighten!

The serum is not too thick, and a little bit of the serum goes a pretty long way, and doesn’t feel too thick on the skin. It does have a slightly strong scent, but the smell doesn’t linger for too long, and don’t quote me on this, but I’m thinking some scent is actually good in throwing off your scent for the mosquitoes since we’re in peak dengue season. And at a RRP of SGD$9.55, it doesn’t cost much more, if at all, than other moisturizers, and not only is it moisturizing and protecting your skin from the sun, it’s also working on evening out the skin tone and reducing spots and scars. Now that’s real value for money, if you ask me.

DSC04720NIVEA is running an Instagram contest from 21 Jul to 15 Aug 2013 and you could win weekly NIVEA hampers worth $188! Simply snap pictures of your active lifestyle in the sun, e.g. basking in the sun by the pool or any other outdoor activities that you do in your spare time. Do hashtag them with the following hashtags: #NIVEAsg #UVWhtSerum #Sunnyfun #Sunshine.

Disclaimer: NIVEA kindly sent me their NIVEA Whitening serum for review, but coincidentally I’ve been looking for a moisturizer with sun protection so I couldn’t be happier with this product!

One thought on “Review: NIVEA Body UV Whitening Serum

Leave a Reply

