Uncategorized

A little lesson learnt from Elly

IMG_3785
Adore those prints!

Never in a million years in my past life (I.e. the life before kids), would I have imagined I’d be doing the things I’m doing today. Heck, I never imagined I’d even have kids, let alone three of them! I’m sure the same can be said of many people, whether or not they have children. After all, change is the only constant in our lives, and the best way to make the most out of it is to go with the flow and enjoy the ride, isn’t it?

I’m sure my friend C, whom I met in university where Singaporeans were a minority, would agree that both of us are so far from the path we started on then and there. Of course I’m not so famous (or adventurous? Entrepreneurial? Creative?) as C, who together with her sister started a children’s boutique, Elly Children’s Outfitters. Almost everyone, or at least the mummies in the know, love and adore Elly’s in-house practical and stylish designs, and carefully curated curated items from other brands. I especially love how the designs are whimsical, colorful, and not too gender-specific. Some are nostalgic, some are classic, but almost certainly there is something for everyone since the prints come in so many shapes and sizes. Elly is barely 18 months old but the little elephant has been busy making her presence known.

IMG_3754
Yes, that’s his smile, although it looks a little like he’s in pain.

Aren’t these adorable?? C kindly gifted them to be before Scout was born (I think. Or maybe she was still tiny?) but I waited until she could fit into it because I thought it would look so cute to have them all 3 wearing it together. Unfortunately, Abacus refused to join in our little photo shoot, and now Mittens has been growing so much he’s practically bursting out of his shirt. At least Scout will still be able to fit into her dress for a little while more.

So the lessons learnt here are – don’t wait too long for the perfect moment to do things, because that moment might come and go and outgrow the shirt you were waiting to wear; and when life opens new doors for you, don’t be afraid to open them – you might just be finding that calling to bring a little kitsch and style into people’s lives.

20130618-2223163 20130618-2223161

Leave a Reply

