kids eats

Munching Munchkins: Bar-Roque Grill

20131011-112328.jpg
Enjoying the tomato soup

Bar-Roque is quite the hottest dining establishment helmed by Alsace– born Chef Stephane who worked with Daniel Boulud for many years, of whom I am now quite a fan of, so I had high expectations after reading many good reviews about the place (some sponsored, some not, this post was definitely not sponsored).

Pork Belly, and Salmon in the background
Pork Belly, and Salmon in the background

I will say, that they welcome kids with high chairs and the usual Ikea kids cutleries. As part of Restaurant Week, we had some very homely lovely tomato soup, which the two boys loved and couldn’t get enough of. The star for me was the grilled octopus salad, although this came at an extra cost. The mains of salmon, pork belly and mushroom ravioli were all executed very well and very tasty, but somehow lacked a bit of character. I thought the mini ravioli were so adorable, but the presentation…if you’re a parent, you might have seen something like it before. I’ll leave you to make up your own mind with the photo.

20131011-112245.jpg
Ok which one of my kids threw up?

So many reviews rave about the decor, so I might be the first to say, I don’t like it so much. I’m not a fan of the layout, and it’s too dark for my liking, and I think with kids I’d prefer a brighter place. But that’s just me. Oh, and because we were seated inside near the al fresco area, Mittens and I were bitten by mosquitoes. Yes, that’s how dark some parts of it is. You know the feeling when you get bitten, and you think, I KNEW them mossies would like this kind of place!

Some parts are quite lit but overall the decor is a little too dark for my liking.
Some parts are quite lit but overall the decor is a little too dark for my liking.

But I do hear good things about their roast chicken (rather reasonably priced at $20) and kids usually love roast chicken, and the apple pie is usually served with ice cream (for Restaurant Week it was served without. HORRORS!), which would’ve been a winner for both me and the kids, so I wouldn’t mind going back again, choosing a brighter area, and giving it another go.

Bon appetit, people 🙂

20131011-112301.jpg

Bar-Roque Grill
Amara Hotel, Level 1
www.bar-roque.com.sg

Leave a Reply

