health · parenting

Why I breastfed for 6 months and ….

Milky Way
Milky Way

Madeline of MadPsychMum started a blog train where 24 mums from the Singapore Mom Bloggers community share their breastfeeding stories over 24 days. Click on the button below to see the full list of posts!

I have learnt so many things from breastfeeding, which led me to write this post on the myths of breastfeeding according to MummyEd (me lah). Both boys were partially on formula from the start, and thinking I wasn’t doing something right, or fear of pain, and maybe wanting an excuse to have some alone time, I was quite dependent on the pump and never really able to establish a good supply. With Scout I was able to fully breast feed her simply by latching, latching and you guessed it, latching. I could never use the pump in peace because kids of all ages are just so curious about these little devices (even Scout when she was older), and I could latch and walk around the house to multi-task.

By the time she was around 7 or 7.5 months, there started to be a drought of some sorts. On hindsight, perhaps I could have done with a higher water intake, but anyhow, Scout started to demand her milk every hour, so that was when we introduced daily formula feeds to her. She hasn’t looked back since. These days, she will still seek comfort, and I’m a sucker for it.

20110618-124606.jpg

Because I didn’t feel I did a very good job with the boys, (and I certainly didn’t beat myself over it), this last experience was a personal achievement of sorts. I don’t feel I’m a better mother as compared to one who didn’t breastfeed at all, and I’m not sure why some women feel the need to compare and judge. I mean, how come people don’t say things to pregnant women like “You sure your baby is getting enough nutrients?” or “Your baby (when born) so small ah? Why you never eat well and feed him well?” Kind of the same, isn’t it?

I still maintain, that everyone should breast feed if they can, but if you can’t, wouldn’t a mix (after they turn 6 months), be the best of both worlds? It could be providing the baby with any nutrients should your baby lack them, and with them used to the bottle it would provide more freedom for the mum too. I’m not saying breast milk isn’t the best, but I think breastfeeding nazis haven’t considered (or are ignoring the issue) that each of our bodies work differently, and instead of liquid gold, isn’t there the possibility we could be providing something slightly less nutritious based on our food intakes, the way we process it, etc? For Scout, I’m pretty sure the formula helped plump her up a little. Nothing wrong with having a supplement, I say!

Oh and to all breast feeding nazis who maintain that breast feeding helps you lose weight – do you know what really helped me lose weight (apart from running after the monkeys all day)? STOPPING BREASTFEEDING. What do you have to say to that?

4 thoughts on “Why I breastfed for 6 months and ….

  1. Wah you can latch and walk around? That’s impressive! I can’t even latch Noah lying down, which means I sit up in bed a few times every night to latch him. And my MIL is one of those who say those silly things to pregnant women (ie me and my SIL). 😛 Also, breastfeeding has NOT helped me to lose weight at all. I get hungry after nursing him most of the time, so I snack a lot and eat huge amounts!

    Like

  2. People can really be insensitive (& talk out of their ass)! And I still have not mastered the nurse & walk around thing! Hmm.. time that I should huh haha. Will try it at least once 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

