health

Dr. Mummy Ed

The last few months have been particularly difficult for us health-wise. Since November we’ve all been taking turns to be sick in and off, and I really don’t remember ever having such a long spell of being under the weather.

As I mentioned in a previous post on Recovering Naturally, I usually try to remedy at home ourselves first. If it’s the usual flu or cough, I won’t visit the GP (even though the clinic is just in my block) unless I think the viruses are getting out of hand or if there’s something else that I’m concerned about. On recent occasions I’ve consulted him because Scout is under 2 years old, so I have to be more careful about which medications we give her.

Most recently, after more than a week of occasional low grade fevers for both Scout and Abacus, I decided to finally go to the PD, who also did a nose swab to check if she was suffering from a bacterial attack (which would then require antibiotics), or if it was just viral. It turned out to be just viral, so thankfully we didn’t start her on antibiotics.

As our families have a history of allergic rhinitis, I also try to administer saline nasal sprays, which is tough for the younger ones since they don’t like the sensation. If you have any ideas on how to get kids to love their nasal sprays I’d love to hear them!

Recently I’ve also added essential oils to our repertoire. We use a variety if Young Living oils such as Lavender, Lemon, Thieves, Eucalyptus, RC, etc. Unfortunately I’m highly allergic to some of the oils, which trigger my eczema, so most of the time I diffuse the oils or I get the kids to rub it on themselves. It seems does like Thieves has helped us keep the germs in check or at bay though!

Also after so many falls and cuts, etc., I have a well-stocked first aid kit, and I even wrote a post on What to do when your child has a fall.

Do click on the link below to read about other ways my mummy friends have had to play doctor to their kids.

 

SANses.com's Talkative Thursdays

Leave a Reply

