kids activities

Thinkersbox Intellibox review and giveaway

20140506-100233.jpgMittens has been attending lessons at Thinkersbox for a few months now, and when they introduced their Intellibox, I almost rolled my eyes thinking, not another box concept! It seems these days the market has been flooded with so many of these monthly boxes which includes everything you need for a good time with your kid. Apart from a good gin tonic for the parent (where do I sign up for a box that included that!).

20140505-215011.jpgBut since we have been pretty happy with Thinkersbox, and since there was an introductory promotion, I decided to give it a try. And so, after receiving our second box, I decided to write a review and approached Thinkersbox who kindly sponsored the two giveaways you find below. Honestly, I don’t blog for the money (what money??) or the freebies, and I certainly wouldn’t bother signing myself up to write about something I don’t feel comfortable endorsing, so let me tell you why we like the Intellibox:

20140505-214953.jpgIt’s smaller than most other boxes. It might sound trivial but have you seen the sizes of other monthly boxes out there? You could fit a newborn in it. I like how the Intellibox is a handy size so I can keep all the manipulatives and activities in it for later reference. Parents like myself have mysterious black holes in our homes where everything disappears into, so we appreciate a little organization.

The easier tangrams were great for my 3.5YO and the game board is meant to be used together with a booklet, but with the 3YO we just used it to find matching pairs. And baby loved opening it. Great motor skills activity for everyone!
The easier tangrams were great for my 3.5YO and the game board is meant to be used together with a booklet, but with the 3YO we just used it to find matching pairs. And baby loved opening it. Great motor skills activity for everyone!

It’s extendible across all ages. Although they have a target age group in mind for the activities, I’ve found that my younger two have been having fun with the items as well. In one box we had tangrams, and Mittens was completely not interested but Abacus enjoyed it. So each box certainly goes a long way.

While this is supposed to be a memory game, with my 3YO I let him use the cards as a reference. As for baby, she just enjoyed playing with the stars.
While this is supposed to be a memory game, with my 3YO I let him use the cards as a reference. As for baby, she just enjoyed playing with the stars.

Own time, own target. Each box comes with activities that are planned for 20 days, usually 2 different activities each day, but I prefer to just do whatever the mood and time permits on that day, especially when the item has captured Mittens’ attention. I know, we are such rebels in my household. You can, and I certainly plan to revisit the past boxes’ activities from time to time.

Great cognitive activities. The activities range from memory skills, to fine motor skills, problem solving, improving visual discrimination, etc. You can also be assured that there is some cognitive science behind each activity, and not just stuff thrown into a box.

20140505-215022.jpgEveryone learns. I never thought of using a timer as motivation for activities, but since receiving our first box and discovering how much Mittens liked using the stopwatch on my phone and seeing how he usually improved on his timing for any particular activity, we’ve since been using it for other activities. Even Abacus loves timing himself for simple activities! I’m not sure if it’s because I’m a newbie to these boxes, but it took me a while to figure everything out for my first box. I wasn’t sure where to look for what, but by the second box it came more easily.

It’s convenient. Great for parents who don’t have much time to buy, browse, plan, research and construct activities for their kids. You can do the activities at home or on the go too, especially good if you find yourself with some pockets of time at home you want to fill without turning on the TV or reaching for the iPad. I’m thinking of bringing some of the items with me on holiday, or to include as part of a little busy bag that we usually bring along with us in case I need to entertain the kids in restaurants, etc.

Affordable. A 3-month subscription goes for S$145 and 6-months for $255. Register your interest in the box online here, or contact Thinkersbox at enquiries@thinkersbox.com, T 67734886 or check out their website here.

 

IntelliBox Flyer

Giveaway time!

We have 2 Intelliboxes to give away (thank you Thinkersbox!)

1. One Intellibox for the month of June 2014 for 4-5 year olds -> Please enter the contest using this rafflecopter here.

2. One Intellibox for the month of June 2014 for 6-7 year olds -> Please enter the contest using this rafflecopter here.

I will be too busy having a nice gin tonic to spend time checking the ages of your child(ren), so you are welcome to decide whichever box you would like. No need to ask me if 5.5 years old can take the 6-7 year old box or if 3.5 years old is too young, etc. 😀

logo

Disclaimer: I paid for my own subscription to Intellibox! All opinions are 100% my own.

 

Thank you all for the overwhelming response! We have picked the winners, and they are Grace Tan and Yee Long Teo! Thinkersbox will be contacting you soon!

 

 

30 thoughts on “Thinkersbox Intellibox review and giveaway

  1. The activities look interesting and something different with others subscription boxes. Hope to try this for my boy.

    Like

    1. Lol Jus!! It’s pretty short activities for each day, so I don’t follow the schedule closely because I want to maximize the time when they’re in the “mode” right, and the chance might not come again for a few days.. Heh.

      Like

  2. My kids enjoy such activities delivered in a box. It’s kinda mysterious and fun to them, I supposed. Hope to win and let my kids try it! *fingers croosed* 🙂

    Like

  3. Intetesting activities and looks great for our children to try and ‘exercise’ their brain. Hope to be able to win one for my girl.

    Like

  4. Been looking at different types of activity boxes for monthly subscription… ur review of this thinkers box sounds so fun n interesting. . Hope to win a thinkers box to try out on my children.. thanks for organising the giveaway!

    Like

Leave a Reply

