kids activities · reviews

Trehaus

Media invite

Trehaus kids atelier
I have not worked in an office for over 5 years, and how times have changed! So I have to admit that I did not know much about co-working although I have been hearing more buzz about co-working spaces and their cafes recently. We were recently invited to check out Trehaus, a new concept in co-working.

Trehaus Workspace_1
Photo courtesy of Trehaus

The co-working area at Trehaus is amazing! Bright and chic, I almost wish that I needed to have an office too. I work out of home since I am either on site or at home on the computer or on my mobile, so unfortunately, I have no need for an office. But I love that there is Trehaus because this would really help support people, especially parents, who are keen to explore careers that are not in a traditional office, people like entrepreneurs, freelancers, etc.

trehaus office

 

I’m pretty sure that if I did need an office, the kids would be begging me to go to work! Why? Well co-working actually refers to sharing office spaces with other people (co-workers), but at Trehaus, you can also bring your children, AND they have scheduled activities and PEOPLE to look after them, and it is not some random indoor playground!

Which kid wouldn’t like THAT?

img_0106

Trehaus is located at Claymore Connected, which is the old Orchard Hotel Shopping Centre or wudever it used to be called. There is a cafe, a subway, and a Hua Ting Steamboat, which looks interesting. There is also the Hua Ting Restaurant next door at Orchard Hotel, which we absolutely love. There is also Orchard Towers next door, and the Forum Shopping Mall across the road. So if your little munchkins get hungry, you know where to go. Or, you can bring your own snacks and hang out in the pantry.

Enough about food.

Firstly, I love that Trehaus is not decorated with your usual IKEA decor. Not that I have anything against IKEA, but it’s a nice change once in a while, wouldn’t you say? Then there is also a counter between the pantry and the kids atelier, so you could work at the counter while having your cuppa, while watching the kids. It’s a win for everyone! And also, there is coffee. We all know mums run on coffee!

The activities are rotated on a weekly basis, and are all based on the Reggio Emilia approach. Reggio Emilia is like a lesser-known pedagogy compared to Montessori, but equally interesting and engaging. And also Italian. It seems like the Italians know their pastas, pizzas, and bambinis, si? The kids atelier play area utilises materials that try to maximize the sensorial experience, so they minimize plastic toys, and they are definitely NOT IKEA toys. Many of the toys are PLAN Toys, which are a lovely eco-brand from Thailand, although it could easily pass off as a German or European brand. Read more about the Trehaus educational approach here.

One of the mummies behind this venture, Elizabeth from Mother Kao, is an educator with three kids, so you can be assured that the activities are planned with some pedagogy behind it. I have known Elizabeth for a while now, and she is an amazing mother and educator, and I am so happy for her that everyone can benefit from her experience at the kids atelier!

The kids activities are targeted at kids from 6 months to 6 years old, but at the event that day, I had to drag even my 8 year old away. If older kids are not interested in playing at the atelier, they are still able to do their homework, or engage in other forms of self directed learning such as browsing the books at the atelier.

As for my  kids, they can’t wait to go back again. I guess I will have to find some work to do? 🙂

 

Find out more about Trehaus membership schemes here, and their kids programmes here.

 

Trehaus
Claymore Connect (the old Orchard Hotel Shopping Centre)
442 Orchard Road, #03-01
Singapore 238879
Tel: 9843 8077
Email: enquiries@trehauscowork.com
Opening Hours: Mon to Fri 9 a.m. – 6 p.m. Sat 9 a.m. – 1p.m.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Trehaus

Leave a comment