parenting

Make new friends, but keep the old.

Make new friends, but keep the old

One is silver, and the other’s gold

Anon

 

I recently saw a video that I felt was very inspiring.

 

It made me think, which one of my friends would do this for me? And which one of them would I do this for?

Over the years, there have been friends who have come and gone. Some you just drift apart from, some stab you in the back (thanks hor), some I have purposely distanced myself from. Sometimes busy with life or with the changes we each go through, we drift apart and later back together again. Some, regrettably just distance themselves for no apparent reason (to me). When you get to a ripe old age like me, changes happen all the time. Sometimes it’s a relief, at other times, call me sentimental but it leaves a dull ache from all the many happy times you had together.

  

An upside to becoming older and wiser, I find, is the ability to also make acquaintances more easily. Perhaps it is from having gone through the similar tribulations of parenthood (especially several times over) that creates the connection. Or perhaps it just comes with the confidence of being older. 

But undoubtedly, there is nothing like old friends. The ones who have seen you through the years, seen your true colours, laughed with you, cried with you, pissed you off and vice versa, and are amazingly still there and friends with you.

Thank you, old friends. We couldn’t have made it this far without each other. Here’s to another few decades of friendship!! 🙂
 

3 thoughts on “Make new friends, but keep the old.

  1. i agree with everything….this totally summed up what’s been going on in my head the past few months – on realisation that I’m finally hitting the big 4-0. I’m gonna repost. heh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

