kids activities · Singapore

Ocean Dreams – Return to the SEA Aquarium

Media Invite

ssd-7-returnseaa-cvf-300_1024x1024

We were invited to a launch event of the book Return to the SEA Aquarium by Epigram books one evening to participate in the Ocean Dreams Programme at, you guessed it, the RWS SEA Aquarium!

Untitled

The evening started with a tour guide for a small group of us. Celine (I think that was her name?) was a fantastic guide, patient and asking the kids lots of great questions. She was also very knowledgable in marine life, and was able to provide some very interesting facts as well as some insight into how the aquarium an is run. We began our journey at the Typhoon Theatre. I have never seen the show before, so it was interesting and amazing at the same time!

 

 

 

 

Untitled

After the typhoon theater, each group was led separately to different parts of the aquarium, so it really felt like we were the only group in the entire aquarium. Along the way, Celine introduced several exhibits, and also talked about their nocturnal habits – something you don’t often get to observe when you normally visit the aquarium. She pointed out that the clown fish exhibit had a blue tinge because it was night; that the mackerel were swimming slower because they were probably resting (and are usually more spritely in the mornings), that they have bred rays at the aquarium but keep expecting and baby rays in separate tanks not in the Open Ocean, that most sharks were more active at night, and most fish need to just keep swimming even when asleep, except for nurse sharks which have different kind of gills (we also got to see them snuggled up in a corner sleeping). And that they have no parrot fish otherwise it would be cool to see them sleeping in the sacks or cocoons they build at night. Interesting right??

Untitled
(If you’re wondering, the girl standee is one of the characters from the book).
RWS SEA Aquarium
After watching Finding Dory, I cannot look at a touch pool the same way ever again.

There were also quizzes for the kids:

RWS SEA Aquarium
Who eats what?

And set against this amazing backdrop:

Open Ocean RWS SEA Aquarium

We have been to the aquarium several times now, and in fact, I was just there with my 3.5YO a week prior to this, but learnt so much more from this programme! Looking at these beautiful creatures swimming up and down never really gets old, does it? I have long hung up my dive fins, but I have always loved learning about marine life, and it was great to have someone who was able to answer all of my, I mean the kids’ questions. I was impressed at how well organized and well-thought out the programme was. And having the entire Open Ocean to a small group of friends is certainly a VERY rare opportunity.

Open Ocean RWS SEA Aquarium

After the tour, we had the book reading by author David Seow, who thereafter with talented illustrator Soefara Jafney entertained the kids for a little while with their Q&A for prize giving. At the SEA Aquarium and Return to the SEA Aquarium are great for kids who love learning about marine life, especially those who have or will be visiting the SEA Aquarium. The illustrations are so lovely, and looking at the book cover against the backdrop of the ocean exhibit, the book almost looks like a part of it.

Open Ocean RWS SEA Aquarium

We headed home, reluctantly leaving the rest of the party at the Aquarium to sleep over to the next day when they going to be treated to a back-of-house experience, which I would have loved to follow!

Untitled

My 8 YO had a really enjoyable time, I’m pretty sure every time he reads Return to the SEA Aquarium now he’s going to remember this wonderful occasion, and I hope he imparts some of his knowledge to his siblings too. And maybe we will need to celebrate one of their birthdays at the SEA Aquauirum too, just like in the book ๐Ÿ™‚

 

27 thoughts on “Ocean Dreams – Return to the SEA Aquarium

  1. It is my (ahem, I mean my kids’) big dream to get invited to sleep over!
    And LOL indeed at the touch pool, *dodge!!!!!!* Maybe next time I will whisper soothingly into the shallows before dipping a gentle figure in.

    Like

  2. Wow, I never knew all that about fishes and their behaviours at night. (I would love to see a clown fish with a blue tinge!) In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever thought about how fishes sleep and whether or not they continue sleeping when they do. Pity my boys are too young for this programme.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

  3. I’m so envious that you got invited! It was certainly a lovely time I would think. I love love love visiting the aquarium too. We went recently for their Imagine | Native exhibition (not media invite though!) and my kids had so much fun.

    Like

  4. Wow! A very well organised book launch at the right place, with so much to learn! Wish I was invited too. My kids sure love it. Actually not only them, me too!

    Same as you, after watching Finding Dory, i will avoid the touch pool.

    Like

  5. Celebrating a kid’s birthday at the SEA Aquarium is totally a great idea! We’ve only been there once, or twice (the getting oldie in me cannot remember, haha!) but we most certainly want to revisit again and again. So much to explore, too little time!

    Is the book now available at local bookstores?
    Cherry (www.sweetmemoirs.com)

    Like

  6. I really love to have my kids to have a sleepover at the SEA Aquarium. We were there once last year, time for a revisit! Very interesting quizzes with ‘props’ on the table too!

    Like

  7. what an unforgettable experience! Ollie loves the SEA Aquarium and we’ve been there many times. It amazes me how they managed to build such a huge aquarium and cater to the needs of so many types of sea creatures! But this sleepover would have been an excursion to remember for the kids! Mad envy!

    Like

  8. I used to work in RWS and I’ve been to SEA countless of times in my course of work that this post really brought back alot of great memories for me. And yes, the sleepover is possibly an excursion to remember, that almost as good as staying in the Ocean Suites ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Oh really! Actually we didn’t stay over because I have a bad back and need my bed…haha. After the experience I went to check the ocean suites but it certainly doesn’t come cheap ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  9. We’ve stayed overnight at the SEA Aquarium for the Ocean Dreams Program and it’s such an educational and memorable experience. The staff are so knowledge and really knows how to interact with the kids. I need to get my hands on that latest book and add to our collection of books ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  10. Looks like a bunch of fun!!!! I am sure the kids couldn’t sleep but kept whispering to each other and giggling! Would love to go with my bubba the next time they do this again!

    Like

  11. Staying over as part of the Ocean Dreams programme seems to be the Big Highlight of the experience. I’m so impressed that you were able to peel your children away without them kicking up an almighty fuss! Did having the book with them enhance their visit?

    Like

    1. Haha.. My son was really disappointed he couldn’t stay over! I think the book is for good for before and after, at the aquarium itself there is already too much happening!

      Like

Leave a Reply

